City Council – About Us

The Huntsville City Council is the legislative branch of the Huntsville city government as defined by the Mayor-Council Act of the State of Alabama. It is made up of 5 members, representing 5 distinct geographic districts of Huntsville, Alabama. All official actions must be approved by a majority vote of the Council during its regular meeting on the second and fourth Thursdays of the month.

The Huntsville City Council is assigned to 10 Committees and Boards, with one or two Council Members on each committee. Council members represent the Council on six of the boards and committees and are assigned by the President of the Council. Each committee is responsible for hearing items that fall under its jurisdiction and then making recommendations to the Council as a whole.



The City Council Members serve staggered terms.

Municipal elections for Districts 2, 3 & 4 elections will be held in August 2018. Elections for Districts 1, 5 and the Mayor will be held in August 2020. More information is available on the City Elections page.

District 1 – Devyn Keith (term expires 2020)

District 2 – Mark Russell, Council President (term expires 2018)

District 3 – Jennie Robinson, Council President Pro Tem (term expires 2018)

District 4 – Bill Kling, Jr., Third Presiding Officer (term expires 2018)

District 5 – Will Culver (term expires 2020)


My Huntsville Services 

Locate your council representative, school district, garbage pick-up date and more by entering your address

District Reference Map 

Quick View – City Council maps